About Me


This is who I am.


Hi, I'm Krisztian.

Hi, my name is Krisztian Kurucz. I am currently 22 years old, and live in Richmond Hill, Ontario when I'm not off studying at the University of Waterloo.

This is one of the better pictures taken of me -- Photo cred: Taylor Goodfield

This is one of the better pictures taken of me -- Photo cred: Taylor Goodfield

Origins

I was born in Budapest, Hungary to a Hungarian father and Cuban mother. An unlikely combination, to say the least. When I was three years old, my father decided the best thing for his young family was to uproot and move to Canada. We began our life anew in a strange land, settling in North York, on the edge of Toronto. It was rough for a few years as we got used to an entirely new language and culture, but soon we felt right at home in this welcoming and multicultural land, proud to call ourselves Canadian. We moved a few times during my childhood, eventually ending up in Richmond Hill, Ontario for the majority of my teenage years.

I grew up in and around the Toronto area

I grew up in and around the Toronto area

Languages

I speak English and Hungarian fluently. I hope someday I will pick up my mom’s native language as well, which is Spanish.

Hobbies and Interests

I enjoy doing a wide variety of things in my spare time. So many things, in fact, that I often have difficulty deciding where I should be spending my increasingly limited amounts of spare time. I enjoy reading, cooking, jogging, biking, swimming, watching TV & movies, programming, tinkering with electronics, playing board games, travelling, hiking, and photography, amongst other things. I love learning new things, and I have a ‘try-anything-once’ kind of attitude towards most of my life.

Skills and Passions

I have found my program to be a great match for my disposition and interests. I love intellectual challenges and solving complex problems on paper, but I also love working with my hands and creating new things, bringing to life the ideas and plans that began on paper. I am always trying to learn more and do more, taking on side projects involving electronics, programming, and more. I am immensely happy with the breadth of my program, allowing me to experience and learn about many different disciplines and faucets of engineering; although over time I have developed a special interest in the field of electrical engineering, particularly when it's related to consumer product design.

Looking Forward

I look towards the future with optimism, as I strive towards expanding both my knowledge and my skillset in pursuit of my goals. As cliché as it is, I believe that learning is a lifelong process and you should work every day to learn more and achieve more. I am always on the lookout for new opportunities that will allow me to do this, and I am eager to continue my studies and eventually head out into the workforce and see what challenges the future holds for me. If you think you have an interesting opportunity for me, or have any further questions, please feel free to drop me a line via e-mail or social media. I look forward to talking, and maybe even working with you!